About the Foundation

Mission of the Foundation
The I.A. O’Shaughnessy Foundation is a family foundation with a mission to share the legacy of Ignatius Aloysius O’Shaughnessy for the common good, making grants that enrich communities and improve people’s lives.

Values of the Foundation
The Board of Directors has adopted a set of values to guide the work and actions of the Foundation:

Our Origins
We value Ignatius O’Shaughnessy’s legacy: his foresight and boldness, his passion for sharing his good fortune to help others, his trust in his children’s decisions, and his regard for their diverse interests. We honor his Catholic heritage and respect the beliefs of family members and those we serve. We acknowledge his wisdom, and accept the responsibility to carry forward his commitment to philanthropy in the context of our changing world.

We share a personal responsibility for the common good and well-being of others. We respond with compassion and attempt to follow our Founder’s example of attending to people’s needs with dignity and respect.

Making a Difference
We endeavor to make grants that have a meaningful and timely impact, and foster long-term solutions as well as addressing immediate needs.

We promote life-long learning and education as essential for improving the quality of life for individuals and communities. We strive to learn from others the needs of our society and who best serves those needs.

We are united in the common bond of stewardship for our Founder’s legacy and for the communities we serve. We safeguard the assets entrusted to us into perpetuity, granting funds responsibly to achieve tangible and positive results.

The I.A. O’Shaughnessy Foundation’s Board of Directors is structured to promote continued family involvement; Directors are appointed from I.A. O’Shaughnessy’s direct descendants and their families.

Elizabeth L. Wysong
Teresa O. Duggan
Karen J. O’Shaughnessy
Michael J. Monahan
Mary K. O’Shaughnessy
Gerald E. O’Shaughnessy
Daniel J. O’Shaughnessy
Timothy D. O’Shaughnessy
Lucille M. O’Shaughnessy
Kathryn L. Wysong

President: Daniel J. O’Shaughnessy
Vice Presidents: All other Directors
Secretary: Teresa O. O’Shaughnessy
Treasurer: Timothy J. O’Shaughnessy